Did You Know?

Published for TALK Magazine in March 2009

MARCH ISSUE (dragged)Perez Hilton[isms]

Being American gossip maven and bloganista Perez Hilton is a very divisive profession, so it’s not surprising that the man occasionally needs to get away from it all. Recently Hilton visited China for some much needed rest and relaxation.

Here’s what the man himself had to say about his trip out east:

“I don’t know much about Chinese celebrities but I learned a lot about Chinese culture and it’s really interesting how they’re so superstitious in a good way.  I want to get some of those lions for my home.” 

“You know, one of the great things was that I didn’t need to speak Mandarin to get around.  I was able to have a great time without speaking the language and just learning a few words.”

“My favourite highlights were going to see many shows, going to Hong Kong Disneyland, acrobatic shows in Shanghai, having a lot of dim sum, visiting the Great Wall and Forbidden City.  Just trying to have a lot of fun and soak up the culture.

“The internet wasn’t as bad as people told me it would be. Thankfully I was able to use the internet as normal.  I was really concerned that my website wouldn’t work or that I couldn’t update my site, but I was able to use it.  And luckily I was able to get on Twitter through my cell phone.”

